Aye Aye Captain..Life of a mariner captured in museum

Narrow streets above wide canals, tourists cycling…1000z of parked cycle’s coffee shops, fantastic museums cheese to die for. Whenever I thought of Amsterdam I could only visualize of two things one of the beautiful girls in the red light district dressed to kill and second being squiffed with marijuana and alcohol but in real Amsterdam city had to offer more than that.

20150403_113642

 

Yes every time I watched Queen (bollywood movie) I wanted to visit this place.
Amsterdam is where modern architecture developed organically between facades of historical buildings. The city has outstanding museums and theaters. The intimacy of the streets, canals and squares create an atmosphere that visitors find unique.

One of the best part of my visit to Amsterdam was –Scheepvaartmuseum. To be honest, I am not a kind who will visit any museum, I can visit any number of clubs any number of times..I imagine museums as a place that kills me with boredom.
However The Scheepvaartmuseum a.k.a The National Maritime Museum is an exceptional!

I have never been happier spending much of one full day going through all the exhibits and the real ship out at the dock imagining as if I was a captain 300 years ago……
Nothing was spared to make this place a treasure trove of information, paintings, and ship models.

The building itself is very nice and the history of the Dutch shipping industry was educational. The exhibition of the museum is divided into many sections. The information’s are many as per you interest. From discovery and history of Atlases to the day to day equipments used by sailors to different type of Yatch models everything is there. There was also a section dedicated to Whale hunting.  Totally amazing would be a real understatement.  This is the place to be if you want to see a collection of objects, sorted by topic. The new ship replica was excellent, and that justified the 15 Euro entrance, we began with the Golden Age, which is very well presented. On entry there is an audiovisual introducing a group of people from the period, including a cartographer, a diplomat and a young boy. Their lives are covered during the walk-though, with a summary at the end.

The dark side of the empire is not neglected with a stark exhibition on the slave trade. It gave us so much more information into the Dutch Slave Trade. Atleast I was not aware of the fact that almost 5 million black slaves had been traded.

The visit to museum also provides an opportunity to feel what life was like on board in 17th century.

20150403_102527

East Indiaman Amsterdam!
This is a exact copy of real size ship with that name which was set sail on North Sea in 1749. Unfortunately this ship was caught in the storm and though attempted to save but later sank in sea near the coast.

This was my favorite museum in Amsterdam. It was so unique 🙂

 

59 thoughts on “Aye Aye Captain..Life of a mariner captured in museum

  1. Dina says:

    I’m fascinated with maritime history and the Scheepvaartmuseum will be on my list when we go to Amsterdam again. Many thanks for your very lovely review and images.
    Warm greetings from Norway,
    Dina

    Like

  2. pathbreakingwriter says:

    Great post. Amsterdam has always been one of the places on my bucket list. I would have enjoyed a photographic tour of the museum. I think most museums do not allow photography, do they? I love history and thoroughly enjoy visiting such places where I get to know more about historic places and battles and campaigns.

    Like

    • Sallyporte says:

      Cameras are seldom restricted here, but I was pretty much thrilled with the experience of checking out the place quickly before I was bored out;-)
      I told you I ain’t a museum visitor. Could not believe at end about the time I spend inside:-)

      Like

    • Sallyporte says:

      Hi Barbara,
      Thank you for liking the post. The pleasure is all mine.
      Indeed Amsterdam is place where one visit is never enough 🙂
      You know, the most endearing connection between Time and memories is…
      Times is lost as each second passes away, but it creates memories which lasts for ever, isn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. r_prab says:

    Wow! I am a museum admiring person and was amused to hear when you said you can go to any number of clubs but not a museum!:D Surely the ship looks terrific! That’s how one should do a museum, I realize now! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Sallyporte says:

      Hi R_Prab,
      Thankyou for liking the ship and the post 😉
      Museum is such a silent place you see, you are supposed to keep quiet, it remind me of some college library where any sound and Shhhh……:-D
      There are so many ways to earn Knowledge isnt it? some learn by action while some learn by experience!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sallyporte says:

      Hi InspiringMax,
      Indeed the museum are great source to learn, but honestly I make a trip for fun!
      There is a big hoarding inside ” God Created Earth but Dutch created Netherlands”.
      I am sure one has an acquaintance to this at the end of trip.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. jackcollier7 says:

    I like Amsterdam, always stay in the Grand Hotel Krasnapolski, which is just on the Dam, and right around the back of the hotelis he red light district. Sadly when I go there I’m usually on business, so I never get the chance to drink much or sample the delights of the business girls. Cool post. Kudos

    Liked by 4 people

    • Sallyporte says:

      Hi Jack,
      Thank you for liking the post 🙂
      I could connect your case with a proverb ” the morsel was in the hand but I wasn’t able to taste it” 😉
      I wish good luck to your curiosity and will be glad to read your experience:-) Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment